Anniversaries

Standard

Have you ever noticed that the years keep ticking by… We celebrate many anniversaries in life: of marriages, birthdays, deaths, and other major life events. Sometimes these are treasured days where we remember fondly beautiful days of the past, but sometimes these are days of mourning for those we have lost or the day your life changed… by say a diagnosis of cancer. One thing all anniversaries have in common is the element of remembrance. With the 5 year anniversary of my cancer diagnosis coming up I am forced to remember and reflect. And this year I am chosing to find the beauty in cancer. This blog will serve as my journal of sorts as I ask God to show me the beauty amidst the ugliness and search for my “what now”.

Joy may seem to pause as grief takes its course, but those whose broken hearts are bound by him will experience it again.

You, O Lord, love me with an everlasting love; You have drawn me with loving kindness. You will build me up again and I will be rebuilt. I will take up my tambourine and go out to dance with the joyful! (Jer 31:3-4)

Excerpt from Praying God’s Word Day By Day by Beth Moore

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/praying-gods-word-day-by-day-beth-moore/1100312874?r=1&ean=9780805444209&cm_mmc=Google+Product+Search-_-Q000000630-_-Praying+Gods+Word+Day+by+Day-_-9780805444209

What has been the ugliness in your life? Will you choose to find the beauty in it? If you are in God’s loving hands you will be rebuilt and you will again be joyful. I challenge you to join me on this journey… to not let another year tick by refusing to let God redeem your suffering, rebuild you and restore your joy. Believe me in my stubbornness I’ve allowed too many years to pass, but I don’t have time to maintain any more regrets. There is beauty to be found!

One response »

  1. congrats – takes courage to write out loud. May your writing bring you closer to the truth as you wrestle with its many forms.

    ~Laura

Thoughts...

